Random Image

Welcome to Piopio, A Thriving Village Nestled Between The
World Famous Waitomo Caves and The Rugged Taranaki Coast


Award-winning fire fighters

PIOPIO Memorial Hall was chocka as guests attended the Piopio Volunteer Fire Brigade Honours Night recently.
Fire and Emergency Service group manager David Brown officiated, while Waikato district manager Daryl Trim handed out

Piopio’s fire chief Darren Cathie was awarded a Gold Star Medal marking 25 years’ service, while medals for 14 years’ long service and good conduct were awarded to operational support officer Eric Mason, and station officer
Ryan Todd.

Fire Fighter of the Year is Station Officer Rowan Moorhouse.

Speeches on behalf of Piopio Volunteer Fire Brigade were made by Mark
Bentham, Ryan Todd, Rowan Moorhouse, Sandy Pari, and Anson Clapcott.

Piopio Volunteer Fire Fighter of the YearAward: Rowan Moorhouse
14 years Long Service and Good Conduct
Medals: Ryan Todd and Eric Mason
25 year Gold Star Medal: Darren Cathie
Life Honorary Membership Awards: Darren
Cathie and Eric Mason

MC - David Brown FENZ Group Manager

Gold Star Dignitaries:
Phil New - UFBA; Daryl Trim - FENZ Board and Region Rep; Lesina Waldon - Auckland Provincial Fire Brigades Association Rep; Nathan Bennetto - Auckland Provincial Gold Star Association.

Birdtalk Magazine Aug/Sept 2023